A day in the life of a (slightly unusual) transcriber

From dayinthelife.org

Part 1- Morning

I wake up at 7:30am every single morning. After I get up, I fling my boxer shorts and pants into the laundry basket and hop into the shower. In there, I apply a tea tree oil massaging cream to my face and an aloe vera and ginger body wash onto my body. I stay and soak in there for a good five minutes enjoying the warm water on my body. Some days I’ll wash my hair with shampoo and conditioner, other days not. I usually brush my teeth immediately afterwards and get rid of any stray hairs on my face and back. I like to be clean-shaven, it stops me itching and makes me look younger and healthier.

Once showering’s done, I head to the kitchen where I fire up my Nespresso coffee machine which makes me an Americano just how I like it, with a dash of milk. I sometimes acccompany it with some breakfast waffles or pancakes. I really like sweet foods; they provide me with the sort of energy I need throughout the day, burning off all that glucose with my brain.

Did you know, 75% of your brain is powered by glucose which is stored in your body.

During breakfast I either play some music or have a podcast on. The surround sound system in my living room booms out sounds which I enjoy coming into my ears which doesn’t happen to be a focus group of women talking about toilet paper. It soothes me.

Some of my favourite podcasts include The Fighter & the Kid by Fox Sports, the Joe Rogan Experience by Deathsquad, and Guardian Weekly Football Podcast by the Guardian. They all encompass some of my favourite topics: comedy, sex, relationships, music, football, and American sports. I am particularly into UK grime music at the moment. I like the beat production and some of the lyricism is actually pretty clever. I’m a particular fan of Sir Spyro, Rude Kid and Swifta Beater, to name but three. These guys are all pretty good on the keyboards and putting bass lines together. Some of the better MCs out there are Roachee (aka Richard Roach), Ghetts and Skepta.

Anyway, I digress. Back onto my day and I peruse the web for my other passion: sports gambling, particularly football, where I make my second income, sometimes upwards of £3000 a month (I lie). I write and read previews and betting tips of what I think are good teams to bet on. I have spreadsheets which I work on, taking in as much information as I can on the team lineups, their styles of play, etc. It’s good to know which teams in particular are very strong this season. It’s mostly the same teams, so past knowledge can help at times. I’ve also recently been dipping my toe into the NBA water. There are so many statistics to go on, it can help, but it’s a sport I know only a bit about, so I play with caution.

I drink another coffee and it’s only just gone 10am. I normally sit around waiting for my first piece of work to come in. It can come in any time, it’s unpredictable like that. You have to be ready to go at any time, like Batman. I might work at any time during the day from the hours of 9am right through up until 3 or 4 am. I have been known to pull all-nighters. It really depends on my current sleep/wake rhythm.

The morning is also spent watching the homeless people who sleep in the field next to my home waking from their drunken slumber. There is only one tent at the moment, their other one broke, and they have a windbreak for some weird reason! I’m sure that’ll come in handy in the summer months (lol). I then realise what a privileged position I am in, in my warm flat with the Internet and as much entertainment as I want at my fingertips. But that’s their choice and this is mine. I’m sure there’s something pretty satisfying about being homeless, not having to answer to anybody else. Not having to wear a shirt and tie and be in a place at a specific time and working with people you most probably hate and taking orders from people. I do wonder how they fill their days, though, because, without anything to do, the day can drag quite a bit.

I then sometimes think about the best writers who have ever lived: J.R. Tolkien, Irvine Welsh, Stephen King, JK Rowling, and think how long they must have spent physically typing their books. I can type pretty fast, but I barely make a dent in the first few pages of a chapter as a writer. It is quite astonishing the amount of effort those people put into writing a novel. It is a skill and it’s no real wonder that so many people get so much enjoyment from their stories, because it’s their whole being that’s being put into that book, their heart, their soul, their humour, their own perception of the world, the things they do, the things they say, the way they drink their coffee. Each one is individual and different.

I’m trying to get to 1000 words. I don’t enjoy being conscious of the amount I am typing, but I guess it’s something to aim for. Maybe I need a new hobby. Tennis, perhaps? No work today. That’s typical of a Monday. I usually don’t like working Mondays, if I’m honest. I will happily though, and also happily not. If no work does come in, I’ll likely play Fifa 15 or Far Cry 3 for the entire day, and then feel intense guilt that I didn’t achieve anything worthwhile that day apart from passing a new level or gaining a promotion. Still, one step at a time, right? I’m not even at the halfway point in my life yet, so I’ll still do as I wish, not harm anybody, enjoy the coffee that the world has given me and….

To be continued

A day in the life of a (slightly unusual) transcriber

Leave a Reply

